More than 100 energy executives met to learn more on current and prospective energy issues affecting the Carolinas’ energy economy and to become acquainted with others with whom they may collaborate on energy policy. Details of the event produced by the E4 Carolinas Energy Policy Task Force may be read in the news media coverage section and accessed via the links below. Further below is a link to the federal energy policy overview PowerPoint, a listing of all speakers with hyperlinks to their and their organizations’ pages and a listing of all registrants.

News Media Coverage

NC Official’s Prescription for Energy Sector (Charlotte Business Journal, August 29)

Rule Soon on Duke’s $4.9B Piedmont Purchase (Charlotte Business Journal, August 26)

NC Policy Makers, Regulators Attack EPA’s Clean Power Plan (Charlotte Business Journal, August 26)

Federal Energy Policy Overview

Merrifield PPT Federal Policy Panel Moderator, Jeff Merrifield Energy Policy Overview (click on image to view)

 Moderators and Speakers

Federal Energy Policy PanelJeff Merrifield (Moderator), Federal Co-chair, E4 Carolinas Energy Policy Task Force and Partner, Pillsbury Law

State Energy Policy PanelGeorge Baldwin (Moderator), North Carolina Co-chair, E4 Carolinas Energy Policy Task Force and Managing Director, Government Relations, Piedmont Natural Gas

  • South Carolina State Representative Dwight Loftis (R)
  • North Carolina State Senate Candidate and former President, Duke Energy NC Paul Newton (R)
  • Former North Carolina State Representative Mike Hager (R)
  • North Carolinas State Rerpresentative Jason Saines (R)

State Energy Regulatory PanelDavid Wright (Moderator), South Carolina Co-chair, E4 Carolinas Energy Policy Task Force, Chief Executive Officer, Wright Directions, former Chair of the South Carolina Public Service Commission and former President of the National Association of Regulated Utility Commissioners


First Last Job Title Company
Benjamin Lowe Director, Policy Alevo USA
Rick Jordan Senior Account Manager Alliance of Professionals and Consultants
Rod Beard VP Business Development American Solar Integrators
Brian Bednar President Birdseye Renewable Energy
Beth Clark Project Development Manager Blue Sphere Corporation
Ben Kinney Publisher Business North Carolina
Lisa Lee Morgan President & CEO Calor Energy
John Downey Reporter Charlotte Business Journal
Natalie English SVP, Public Policy Charlotte Chamber
Rob Phocas Energy & Sustainability Manager City of Charlotte
Brooks Kirby Electric Services Director City of Morganton
Terry Lansdell Program Director Clean Air Carolina
Elizabeth Colbert-Busch Director, Business Development Clemson University
Robert Irvin Executive Director CLT Joules
Doug Miller President Cogentrix Energy Power Management
Chad Link Vice President Crowder Energy Services, LLC
Thomas Boothby CPA Dixon Hughes Goodman
William Murray Sr. Policy Advisor Dominion Resources
Rye Barcott Managing Partner Double Time Capital
Elizabeth Bennett Strategic Outreach Manager Duke Energy
Justin Brown Mgr, Planning & Reg. Support Duke Energy
Robb Dussault Product/Program Development Duke Energy
Brian Franklin Associate General Counsel Duke Energy
Brian Hughes Smart Grid Planning Manager Duke Energy
Lee Mazzocchi SVP, Grid Solutions Duke Energy
Mark McIntire Director, Environmental/Policy Duke Energy
Mike Ruhe Director, SC Env Affairs/Policy Duke Energy
Evan Shearer Smart Grid Planning Manager Duke Energy
Dalia Patino-Echeverri Assistant Professor Duke University
David Doctor President & CEO E4 Carolinas
Christa Wagner Vinson Energy Economic Development E4 Carolinas
Jessica Medlin Producer ECM Solutions
Tim Griffin Executive Director ETEBA
Mark Lewis VP, Business Development Energy Solutions
Wayne Wilkins CEO Energy United
Tanja Vujic Director, SE Clean Energy Environmental Defense Fund
David Dalton President / CEO General Microcircuits
Tony Cannon General Manager/CEO Greenville Utilities Commission
Jeffrey Vestal President/CEO Heat Transfer Sales of the Carolinas
Clifton Vann IV CEO Hyde Park Partners
Craig Rushing Government Affairs Director Ingersoll Rand
W. Scott Tew Executive Director Ingersoll Rand
Don Dracon Executive Vice President KeySource
BRUCE MAGRUDER Engineer KeyTech Engineering PLLC
Bryant Kinney Principal Kinney Public Strategies
John Dolan Business Analyst Lime Energy
Bill Linton Principal Linton Consulting
Bryan Stone COO Lockhart Power Company
Michael Horrigan Principal and Owner M/H/R Services LLC
Matthew Rosen Manager Midlands Bio-Fuels
Edward Finley Chairman N.C. Utilities Commission
Jenny Kelvington Executive Director NC DEQ
Donald van der Vaart Secretary NC DEQ
Jay Rouse Director Government Affairs NC Electric Cooperatives
Rodney Moore NC House Representative NC General Assembly
Mike Hager Former House Majority Leader NC House of Representatives
Mike Davis Director of Strategic Partnerships NC Sustainable Energy Association
Don Bailey Commissioner NC Utilities Commission
Preston Howard President NC Manufacturers Association
Paul Newton NC Senate Candidate Newton For Senate
Curtis Wilson Account Executive Nexant
Mallori Morris Executive Assistant North Carolina DEQ
Lexi Rudolph Information Officer North Carolina DEQ
Jason Saine Rep. North Carolina General Assembly
Sam Watson General Counsel North Carolina Utilities Commission
Mike Green VP Development NTE Energy
Nils Breckenridge Business Development NuScale Power
Joel Olsen CEO O2 emc
Steve Hunting Partner Parker Poe
George Baldwin Managing Director Piedmont Natural Gas
Bruce Barkley VP – Regulatory Affairs Piedmont Natural Gas
Jane Lewis-Raymond Senior Vice President Piedmont Natural Gas
David Nestor Policy Manager Piedmont Natural Gas
Pia Powers Director of Regulatory Affairs Piedmont Natural Gas Company
Jeffrey Merrifield Partner Pillsbury Law
Matt Sadinsky CEO PReP Intl
Fred Smith Vice President Randolph Electric Membership Corp
Tom Lamendola Executive Director RCS Corporation
Matt Blackwell Legislative Assistant Representative Joe Wilson
DeAndrea Salvador Executive Director Ren. Energy Transition Initiative
Ronak Bhatt Principal Advisor RIN Advisors
Patricia Pierce Executive Director SC Clean Energy Business Alliance
Leigh Ford Director SC DHEC
Catherine Heigel Program Director SC DHEC
Dwight Loftis S C Legislator District 19 SC General Assembly
John Raftery General Manager SCANA
Robert Schulte Principal Schulte Associates LLC
Melissa Schulte Director of Operations Schulte Associates LLC
Scott Carlton President SGL Group, the Carbon Company
Shiba Bhowmik CEO SineWatts, Inc.
Rhiannon Bowman Reporter Southeast Energy News
Robert J Haupt Manager Southern Energy Management
Brooks Pearson Staff Attorney Southern Environmental Law Center
Tom Phelps Principal Stantec
Joe Harwood Consultant The JHS Group, Inc.
Mike Pardue District Manager The Okonite Company
Robert Johnson Dean UNC Charlotte
Johan Enslin Director UNC Charlotte
Peter Schwarz Professor UNC Charlotte
Richard Hudson Congressman US Congress
David Wright President Wright Directions, LLC